Things that hurt help

pain_thornPaul uses the word thorn when talking about pain. He knew something about pain. A thorn is really a small thing, but what can we learn from the pain.

PAIN’S PROCESS

Pain has a way of clarifying your motives. It helps see the Creator more clearly. No doubt things that break you bring you closer to God. Author Keller, Walking with God in Pain and Suffering puts it this way…“Things put you into the furnace properly doesn’t destroy, rather it purifies, refined shaped and beautifies. It can end by making us stronger and better filled with great joy.”

Let me get transparent with you. I have been well acquainted with brokenness. I’ve been sucker punched in the heart. I didn’t know if God was punishing me or what! It was as if I was invisible to God. Things just didn’t make sense at the time.

PAIN’S BLESSING

Yet, brokenness has been my biggest blessing. It has made me realize I need God. That is a really good place. God is at the center of the universe. It doesn’t matter if you think you are at the center, you are not. You can’t stop just because life is tough. Be cautious not to feed every feeling of despair. Bitterness stops you from being better.

I have realized that having peace doesn’t mean pain isn’t present. I have just found the peace in the pain. God works in my pain/weakness because I don’t really have anything else to bring. Since God has still given me breath, I’m moving forward in Faith with the one who always delivers!

Finally, see what Paul in 2 Corinthians 12: 8 and following says about his pain… “Three times I pleaded with the Lord to take it away from me. But he said to me, My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness. Therefore I will boast all the more gladly about my weaknesses, so that Christ’s power may rest on me.”

PAIN’S CONCLUSION

God’s strength is made perfect in your weakness.

Leave a Reply

